Ramage

Convergences

book cover

Lawrence Weschler is a curator of resemblance and pattern. His new book, Everything That Rises: A Book of Convergences, works, basically, on this formula: take two vastly different yet similarly patterned photographs and contemplate them side by side.

Weschler’s point is nothing so simple as "Rothko was inspired by the moon landings." Rather, he discusses how both images act on the mind in similar ways and considers what that would tell us about art and the impulse to comprehend.

   – from a post about Weschler at Scott Esposito’s blog Conversational Reading.

This piece at the Transom Review is also an excellent introduction to the Weschler view of things. Read the whole thing, including the comments. Listen to the MP3s, too, if you can.

McSweeney’s is hosting a Convergences Contest, with notes on the winning entries by LW himself.

As you may well imagine, and as he himself is well aware, he is not an easy author to categorise. This from an interview with Jim Ruland for the now-dormant magazine The God Particle:

A huge problem for me in bookstores is that my work gets put in all kinds of places. I have a hopeless crusade going that if a work is literary, if it’s writerly, if the writing matters, then it should be put in alphabetical order by author in the literature section. Regardless of whether my work does or doesn’t reach that level, Janet Malcolm and so forth should be on the shelf with Marquez as writing. This completely artificial distinction between fiction and nonfiction is weird. In my case what happens is my stuff gets scattered all the hell over the bookstore. My book on the Museum of Jurassic Technology? They have no idea what to do with that.

My advice, as a bookseller? Wherever you find Mr. Weschler’s work, read it.

Written by Dave Lovely

February 18, 2006 at 3:58 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As a longtime Shriekback fan, I must say that I like the book’s title.

    MrBaliHai

    February 18, 2006 at 10:45 pm

  2. Any band that can call one of their songs after a book by Flannery O’Connor, and use the word “parthenogenesis” in another, are alright by me. I was a big XTC fan, too.

    dave

    February 20, 2006 at 7:28 pm


Comments are closed.

